Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds

Huis van de Vlaamse Film
Bischoffsheimlaan 38
1000 Brussel

tel: 02-226 06 30
fax: 02-219 19 36
info@vaf.be

www.vaf.be

ANDERE VAF SITES

Flanders Audiovisual Fund

The Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF) supports audiovisual production in, as well as international co-productions with Flanders. The Fund was set up by the Flanders government in 2002 and is headquartered in Brussels.
The aims of the Flanders Audiovisual Fund are threefold: to develop a sustainable audiovisual industry, to encourage and support upcoming audiovisual talent and to promote a vibrant audiovisual culture in Flanders.
VAF accomplishes four main tasks. It provides financial support for audiovisual productions (1) and promotes these in Flanders as well as abroad (2). The Fund also grants scholarships, finances professional training and supports/organises workshops (3) as well as carries out surveys on the audiovisual field (4).

1. Production
The Flanders Audiovisual Fund annually receives a €12.5 million grant of the Flanders government. A minimum of 78% of the annual budget goes to production support. Filmmakers can apply for support to fiction, documentary, animation and experimental media production. VAF distinguishes four types of support: scriptwriting support, development support, production support and support towards promotion.
All funding applications are examined by reading committees the members of which have critical skills and a thorough knowledge of the audiovisual field. These committees given their recommandations to the Board of Directors, which has the final decision.

2. Promotion
Flanders Image is a division of the Flanders Audiovisual Fund, taking care of the promotion of Flanders audiovisual productions in Belgium as well as abroad. By combining the three key elements of filmmaking – development, production and promotion – VAF is able to execute a coherent audiovisual policy and back Flanders audiovisual productions with solid promotion.
Flanders Image attends a large number of festivals and markets, such as Rotterdam, Berlin, Cannes and MIP and organises and/or participates in film events abroad that are aimed at supporting Flanders audiovisual productions.

3. Training
A considerable part of the Fund’s annual budget (€1 million) is reserved for professional training. The Flanders Audiovisual Fund grants scholarships, finances professional training and supports/organises workshops. It allows young filmmakers to gain experience and confidence in filmmaking and gives audiovisual professionals the opportunity to specialise.

4. Research
The Flanders Audiovisual Fund also reserves a modest budget for research related to the audiovisual field. Its focus is on practical surveys.

Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds

Huis van de Vlaamse Film
Bischoffsheimlaan 38
1000 Brussel

tel: 02-226 06 30
fax: 02-219 19 36
info@vaf.be

www.vaf.be

ANDERE VAF SITES

Le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre

Le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre (VAF) soutient la production audiovisuelle en Flandre et la coproduction internationale avec la Flandre. Le Fonds a été créé par le gouvernement flamand en 2002. Son siège et ses bureaux se trouvent à Bruxelles.
Le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre poursuit prioritairement trois objectifs: développer une industrie audiovisuelle flamande durable, encourager et soutenir les jeunes talents et promouvoir une culture audiovisuelle éblouissante en Flandre.
Le VAF se donne quatre missions. Il apporte un soutien financier aux productions audiovisuelles (1) et assure leur promotion tant en Flandre qu'a l'étranger (2). Le Fonds accorde également des bourses d'études, finance des formations professionnelles, soutient ou organise des ateliers de création (3) et stimule les recherches dans le domaine de l'audiovisuel (4).

1. Production
Le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre reçoit annuellement une dotation de 12,5 millions d'euros du gouvernement flamand. Au moins 78 % de ce budget sont consacrés au soutien à la production. Les cinéastes peuvent solliciter un soutien pour un film de fiction, un documentaire, un dessin animé ou une production dans le domaine des nouveaux médias. Le VAF distingue quatre types de soutien: celui à l’écriture du scénario, au développement de l'oeuvre, à sa production et à sa promotion.
Toutes les demandes de financement sont examinées par des commissions de sélection ayant les compétences requises et une connaissance approfondie dans le domaine de l'audiovisuel. Le Conseil d’Administration du Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre prend la décision finale, après avoir pris connaissance de l’avis des commissions.

2. Promotion
Flanders Image est le département du Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre chargé de la promotion des productions audiovisuelles tant en Flandre qu'à l'étranger. En combinant trois éléments clés de la réalisation cinématographique – le développement, la production et la promotion – le VAF est à même de réaliser une politique audiovisuelle cohérente et de soutenir les productions flamandes par le biais d'une promotion performante.
Flanders Image participe à un grand nombre de festivals et de marchés (p.e. Cannes, le MIP, Berlin, Rotterdam). Flanders Image organise ou participe à des événements cinématographiques à l'étranger qui visent à promouvoir les productions audiovisuelles flamandes.
 
3. Formation
Une grande partie du budget annuel du Fonds (1 million d'euros) est consacrée a la formation professionnelle. Le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre accorde des bourses d'études, finance des formations professionnelles et soutient ou organise des ateliers de production. Le Fonds se concentre sur des projets internationaux et permet à des jeunes cinéastes d'acquérir une expérience et un savoir faire professionnels. Aux professionnels de l’audiovisuel, le Fonds offre l'occasion de se spécialiser.

4. Recherche
Finalement, le Fonds Audiovisuel de Flandre réserve un modeste budget à la recherche dans le domaine audiovisuel. Le Fonds se concentre surtout sur des études concernant les aspects pratiques de la profession.